Unnamed repository; edit this file 'description' to name the repository.
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Gerd Hoffmann <kraxel@redhat.com>
To: Alexandre Courbot <acourbot@chromium.org>
Cc: "Keiichi Watanabe" <keiichiw@chromium.org>,
	virtio-dev@lists.oasis-open.org,
	"Linux Media Mailing List" <linux-media@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Alex Lau" <alexlau@chromium.org>,
	"Daniel Vetter" <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	"Dylan Reid" <dgreid@chromium.org>,
	"David Staessens" <dstaessens@chromium.org>,
	"Dmitry Sepp" <dmitry.sepp@opensynergy.com>,
	"Enrico Granata" <egranata@google.com>,
	"Frediano Ziglio" <fziglio@redhat.com>,
	"Hans Verkuil" <hverkuil@xs4all.nl>,
	"Stéphane Marchesin" <marcheu@chromium.org>,
	"Pawel Osciak" <posciak@chromium.org>,
	spice-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	"David Stevens" <stevensd@chromium.org>,
	"Tomasz Figa" <tfiga@chromium.org>,
	uril@redhat.com,
	"Samiullah Khawaja" <samiullah.khawaja@opensynergy.com>,
	"Kiran Pawar" <kiran.pawar@opensynergy.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 1/2] virtio-video: Add virtio video device specification
Date: Wed, 4 Mar 2020 07:42:51 +0100
Message-ID: <20200304064251.zzkhevqgth6uets6@sirius.home.kraxel.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAPBb6MWwBbNULCfMxN_KLt_Zd8kmmNy2JPi6XjLF1YgxxCPydw@mail.gmail.com>

  Hi,

> > With a feature flag both driver and device can choose whenever they want
> > support v1 or v2 or both.  With a version config field this is more
> > limited, the device can't decide to support both.  So the bonus points
> > for a smooth transition go to the feature flags not the version field ;)
> 
> I agree that feature flags would be preferable in general, but I'm
> concerned by the fact that there is (IIUC) a limited number of them.

We have 64 total, some reserved, 24 are available to devices right now,
see https://www.kraxel.org/virtio/virtio-v1.1-cs01-video-v3.html#x1-130002

> Video tends to change significantly over time, and to have optional
> features that would also be presented as feature flags. After a while
> we may run out of them, while a new protocol version would allow us to
> extend the config struct with some new flags. Or am I missing
> something?

Not everything needs a feature flag.  For example we have
VIRTIO_VIDEO_CMD_QUERY_CAPABILITY, and we can add new video formats
without needing a feature flag.  Maybe it is a good idea to explicitly
say in the specs that this can happen and that the driver should simply
ignore any unknown format returned by the device.

> I also wonder how "support v1 or v2 or both" would work with feature
> flags. In order to make it possible to opt out of v1, I guess we would
> need "v1 supported" flag to begin with?

The driver can ignore any device without v2 feature flag set.
The device can refuse to accept a driver without v2 support (don't allow
setting the FEATURES_OK bit).

A explicit v1 feature flag would allow the guest driver print a more
specific error message ("device doesn't support v1" instead of "feature
negotiation failed"), but that's it.

cheers,
  Gerd


  reply	other threads:[~2020-03-04  6:43 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 35+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-02-06 10:20 [PATCH v3 0/2] Virtio " Keiichi Watanabe
2020-02-06 10:20 ` [PATCH v3 1/2] virtio-video: Add virtio " Keiichi Watanabe
2020-02-25  9:59   ` Gerd Hoffmann
2020-02-27  7:24     ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-02-27  9:28       ` Gerd Hoffmann
2020-03-04  4:31         ` Alexandre Courbot
2020-03-04  6:42           ` Gerd Hoffmann [this message]
2020-03-04 10:07             ` Alexandre Courbot
2020-03-23 12:07               ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-03-23 13:28                 ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-03-23 15:48                   ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-03-25  9:47                     ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-03-27  3:35                       ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-03-30  9:53                         ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-04-06  9:32                           ` Alexandre Courbot
2020-04-06 11:46                             ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-04-07  9:21                               ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-04-09 10:46                                 ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-04-17  8:08                                   ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-04-20  9:57                                     ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-04-21  8:38                                       ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-04-24 11:42                                         ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-04-27 14:28                                           ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-04-07 14:49   ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-04-09 10:46     ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-04-09 13:13       ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-04-24 11:45         ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-04-27  9:33           ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-05-18  5:17   ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-05-27 12:12     ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-05-29 14:21       ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-06-01  7:19         ` Alexandre Courbot
2020-02-06 10:20 ` [PATCH v3 2/2] virtio-video: Define a feature for exported objects from different virtio devices Keiichi Watanabe
2020-02-25 10:01   ` Gerd Hoffmann
2020-02-27  7:24     ` Keiichi Watanabe

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200304064251.zzkhevqgth6uets6@sirius.home.kraxel.org \
    --to=kraxel@redhat.com \
    --cc=acourbot@chromium.org \
    --cc=alexlau@chromium.org \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=dgreid@chromium.org \
    --cc=dmitry.sepp@opensynergy.com \
    --cc=dstaessens@chromium.org \
    --cc=egranata@google.com \
    --cc=fziglio@redhat.com \
    --cc=hverkuil@xs4all.nl \
    --cc=keiichiw@chromium.org \
    --cc=kiran.pawar@opensynergy.com \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=marcheu@chromium.org \
    --cc=posciak@chromium.org \
    --cc=samiullah.khawaja@opensynergy.com \
    --cc=spice-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=stevensd@chromium.org \
    --cc=tfiga@chromium.org \
    --cc=uril@redhat.com \
    --cc=virtio-dev@lists.oasis-open.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Unnamed repository; edit this file 'description' to name the repository.

This inbox may be cloned and mirrored by anyone:

	git clone --mirror http://archive.lwn.net:8080/linux-media/0 linux-media/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-media linux-media/ http://archive.lwn.net:8080/linux-media \
		linux-media@vger.kernel.org lwn-linux-media@archive.lwn.net
	public-inbox-index linux-media

Example config snippet for mirrors.
Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://archive.lwn.net/lwn.kernel.linux-media


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git