Unnamed repository; edit this file 'description' to name the repository.
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Keiichi Watanabe <keiichiw@chromium.org>
To: Alexandre Courbot <acourbot@chromium.org>
Cc: "Gerd Hoffmann" <kraxel@redhat.com>,
	virtio-dev@lists.oasis-open.org,
	"Linux Media Mailing List" <linux-media@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Alex Lau" <alexlau@chromium.org>,
	"Daniel Vetter" <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	"Dylan Reid" <dgreid@chromium.org>,
	"David Staessens" <dstaessens@chromium.org>,
	"Dmitry Sepp" <dmitry.sepp@opensynergy.com>,
	"Enrico Granata" <egranata@google.com>,
	"Frediano Ziglio" <fziglio@redhat.com>,
	"Hans Verkuil" <hverkuil@xs4all.nl>,
	"Stéphane Marchesin" <marcheu@chromium.org>,
	"Pawel Osciak" <posciak@chromium.org>,
	spice-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	"David Stevens" <stevensd@chromium.org>,
	"Tomasz Figa" <tfiga@chromium.org>,
	uril@redhat.com,
	"Samiullah Khawaja" <samiullah.khawaja@opensynergy.com>,
	"Kiran Pawar" <kiran.pawar@opensynergy.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 1/2] virtio-video: Add virtio video device specification
Date: Mon, 23 Mar 2020 21:07:54 +0900
Message-ID: <CAD90VcaYi2KawNOewRaL1QihUjgja6nLyzU+0R7nsHPN3voXDA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAPBb6MVPjgLkbVjOY6O3srywNm8Zb1pMR2pGM1NinByhgFaZ_A@mail.gmail.com>

Hi everyone,

I have implemented a virtio-video device following my v3 spec in
crosvm, which worked well together with Dmitry's driver [1]. I've
started preparing v4 proposal to address problems found while
implementing the driver and the devices.

Regarding v3 protocol, I'm thinking about how we can differentiate
'parameters' and 'controls' in the virtio-video spec?
In the previous discussion, we decided to have a profile, level and
bitrate as controls because we want to query supported values for each
field.
But, I don't think it's a good criteria because it'd be possible to
query other values in params.

So, I'm thinking about what should be the difference between params
and controls. If no difference, we should deprecate
virtio_video_params and have every field there as a control value
instead.
If we add a new command to get and set multiple controls at once, this
change won't cause overhead.

What do you think? Is there anything I missed?
If it sounds fine, I'll remove virtio_video_params from the v4 spec proposal.

Best regards,
Keiichi

[1]: https://patchwork.linuxtv.org/patch/61717/

  reply	other threads:[~2020-03-23 12:08 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 35+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-02-06 10:20 [PATCH v3 0/2] Virtio " Keiichi Watanabe
2020-02-06 10:20 ` [PATCH v3 1/2] virtio-video: Add virtio " Keiichi Watanabe
2020-02-25  9:59   ` Gerd Hoffmann
2020-02-27  7:24     ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-02-27  9:28       ` Gerd Hoffmann
2020-03-04  4:31         ` Alexandre Courbot
2020-03-04  6:42           ` Gerd Hoffmann
2020-03-04 10:07             ` Alexandre Courbot
2020-03-23 12:07               ` Keiichi Watanabe [this message]
2020-03-23 13:28                 ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-03-23 15:48                   ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-03-25  9:47                     ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-03-27  3:35                       ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-03-30  9:53                         ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-04-06  9:32                           ` Alexandre Courbot
2020-04-06 11:46                             ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-04-07  9:21                               ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-04-09 10:46                                 ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-04-17  8:08                                   ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-04-20  9:57                                     ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-04-21  8:38                                       ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-04-24 11:42                                         ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-04-27 14:28                                           ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-04-07 14:49   ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-04-09 10:46     ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-04-09 13:13       ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-04-24 11:45         ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-04-27  9:33           ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-05-18  5:17   ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-05-27 12:12     ` Dmitry Sepp
2020-05-29 14:21       ` Keiichi Watanabe
2020-06-01  7:19         ` Alexandre Courbot
2020-02-06 10:20 ` [PATCH v3 2/2] virtio-video: Define a feature for exported objects from different virtio devices Keiichi Watanabe
2020-02-25 10:01   ` Gerd Hoffmann
2020-02-27  7:24     ` Keiichi Watanabe

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAD90VcaYi2KawNOewRaL1QihUjgja6nLyzU+0R7nsHPN3voXDA@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=keiichiw@chromium.org \
    --cc=acourbot@chromium.org \
    --cc=alexlau@chromium.org \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=dgreid@chromium.org \
    --cc=dmitry.sepp@opensynergy.com \
    --cc=dstaessens@chromium.org \
    --cc=egranata@google.com \
    --cc=fziglio@redhat.com \
    --cc=hverkuil@xs4all.nl \
    --cc=kiran.pawar@opensynergy.com \
    --cc=kraxel@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=marcheu@chromium.org \
    --cc=posciak@chromium.org \
    --cc=samiullah.khawaja@opensynergy.com \
    --cc=spice-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=stevensd@chromium.org \
    --cc=tfiga@chromium.org \
    --cc=uril@redhat.com \
    --cc=virtio-dev@lists.oasis-open.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Unnamed repository; edit this file 'description' to name the repository.

This inbox may be cloned and mirrored by anyone:

	git clone --mirror http://archive.lwn.net:8080/linux-media/0 linux-media/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-media linux-media/ http://archive.lwn.net:8080/linux-media \
		linux-media@vger.kernel.org lwn-linux-media@archive.lwn.net
	public-inbox-index linux-media

Example config snippet for mirrors.
Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://archive.lwn.net/lwn.kernel.linux-media


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git